A wife of noble character who can find?  She is worth more than rubies.  Her husband has full confidence in her and lacks nothing of value…Prov. 31:10

One of the most moving experiences of my recovery from brain surgery is my beautiful, noble wife, Karyn.   She has been an absolute rock to me– and she (unlike me)  actually remembers the bad stuff–the week of my surgery at CDH–the three scary days when I couldn’t use my left side, when my surgeon kept reassuring all of us that it would all come back with time… when I was in so much pain post surgery, I could barely function.  13 years ago this Sept. 6 at Blanchard Wheaton, Karyn pledged to stick with me “in sickness and in health” –she’s kept her promise to me , hasn’t she?  I’m so proud of her and in love with her (more than ever)!

Actually, that’s been one of the more inspiring sights here at Marianjoy in the rehab gym every day to see spouse after spouse compassionately loving their now very different husbands or wives (post stroke) such simple, quiet love displayed for all the rest of us–no panic of discomfort(at least not that I can see) just patient, devoted acceptance…just like my Karyn.

Seriously,  who else but Karyn would have stuck with “crazy old me” all these years?…

From moving to Phnom Penh, Cambodia giving up her job at Blanchard as Children’s Ministries Director to follow me to Colorado Springs for five years so I could be a Student Ministries Pastor as prep for the mission field in Cambodia to being willing to have her third child in a  foreign country like Bangkok, Thailand?  Now that’s a Prov. 31 woman! In faith in her Great God, she always puts her next foot forward for what the day holds–not shrinking back--, believing God will take care of her and our family, just like He always has.  Speaking of being UNSHAKABLE, well, that’s my Karyn…Now, I’m sure she’ll tell you she’s had her weak moments where everything comes crashing in at once (probably in the quiet of nighttime, so she can’t even breathe…) but she graciously doesn’t tell me about those moments most of the time…