Crazy_Love_Feature

So I’ve been reading Francis Chan’s Crazy Love for the last couple of weeks (half reading, half listening to the audiobook…).  It’s one of those books that gets under your skin and bugs you all day long.  I hadn’t heard much about Francis Chan before I started reading his book; but now that I have, I can loudly recommend him and his writing.  If you aren’t a follower of Jesus (yet…), Chan will help you better understand the kind of life you’re resisting, rejecting, ignoring or just unaware of.  If you are a follower of Jesus, he will make you uncomfortable and force you to evaluate why you’ve made your choice and if you’re convincing anyone by how you live.

One of the quotes that’s been sticking with me is this:

Having faith often means doing what others see as crazy.  Something is wrong when our [Christians’] lives make sense to unbelievers. Francis Chan, Crazy Love, pp. 114-115

Am I that radically committed to Jesus Christ?  Do people who know me think I’m nuts by the way I use my time, love my wife and kids?  Do my inner values express themselves plainly by the way I live?  As I’ve been preaching through 2 Cor. 3 & 4 over the last several weeks at Blanchard Alliance Church, I’ve been forced to ask hard questions about my commitment as a disciple of Jesus–is Christ and His Kingdom so pre-eminent in my life that I’m paying for it personally?  Does my treasure leave a mark that hurts?  And, if so, do I still live with joyful determination to keep going, to keep telling?  Or I am just like most Christians in America today:  unconvincing, unchanged, unmoved?

