He’s not a man you easily forget:  the handsome snowy white beard, the updates on Luke the Evangelist (his proud airedale terrier), the intensity of an old-time revival preacher coupled with the fierce love of a devoted shepherd.  Dr. Lyle Dorsett lives for Christ and proclaims His story so that other souls like mine would live and I’d turn around and do the same for others.

I learned more from him than anyone else during my years at Wheaton College.  He inspired me to devote my days to Christ’s mission.  And his love for the story and writings of C.S. Lewis, church history and his own biographies of D.L. Moody and A.W. Tozer have enriched my walk with God.

The other day, I took some time to listen to one of his recent sermons at Christ the King Anglican Church in Birmingham,  Alabama, where he now serves as Rector.  I downloaded the message entitled “Our Greatest Need Today, The Person of the Holy Spirit”.

And, as usual, within his first few sentences, Dr. Dorsett captured my attention with this statement:

We live in an extremely privileged period.  We live in the dispensation of the Holy Spirit…

He goes on to note that, more than anything, as a young believer in Jesus Christ, he wanted to be able to have the chance to walk the roads of Galilee with Him–to physically be with Jesus there.  I’ve longed for the same experience.  And yet, in truth, Dr. Dorsett observes, we living today have the possibilities of a far more intimate, every moment experience with Jesus by His indwelling Holy Spirit than even the twelve disciples did when they spent time with Jesus in those days.

So the question I ask myself in response to Dr. Dorsett’s reminder is…

How is this true of my everyday reality–as a son, as a husband, as a dad, as a neighbor, as a pastor?

AllWhoAreThirsty I’m reminded of a Caedmon’s Call lyric that has stuck with me over the years, “Water,  water everywhere–and I complain about my thirst.” (“Too Tender”)  Jesus teaches me that His presence is here, filling me, purifying me, convicting and correcting me and teaching me (John 14, 16-17).  I have immediate access to Christ in this extremely privileged period for everything I need to live for Him in my everyday existence (Romans 5:1-5; 8:9-17; 2 Peter 1:3-11).  His water is everywhere and I can drink it all day long with enough left in my cup to share with anyone else who’s thirsty, too (John 4:7-26).

Take twenty minutes and listen to or download Dr. Dorsett’s message for yourself.  It’s under the Playlist section on my blog’s sidebar.  Be reminded of the gift of God’s present, all-consuming Spirit right with you today.

And if God feels far away, that His presence is gone and you’re alone and in pain–know that He groans for you and is praying for you in ways your words cannot express before the throne of our Father in heaven (Rom. 8:26-27).  God’s Spirit is with you, right where you are.

Be blessed today, dearly loved brothers and sisters, and tell His Story.  We are the Privileged Ones living in privileged days immersed in the Holy Spirit’s life and presence until Jesus comes back once again to make all things new forever.

Since we live by the Spirit, let us keep in step with the Spirit. Gal. 5:25

