A “re-entry blackout” makes for a great story–just watch Apollo 13 for a little white-knuckle fun.  It’s the 3-4 minute break in radio communications between an orbiting spacecraft and ground control upon re-entry into Earth’s atmosphere (only for the Apollo 13 mission it lasted an extra ninety seconds due to a shallow re-entry trajectory and poor Major Tom [the astronaut from David Bowie’s Space Oddity] is still lost in space…).

As Campus Pastor for Blanchard Warrenville, it’s my job to listen, participate, advocate and respond to our church family’s story.  We all bring different perspectives to our shared story at Blanchard Alliance Church, but there’s nothing worse than feeling like you’re in the middle of re-entry blackout.

At different points in my time as pastor over the last two years, I’ve had my fair share of blackouts,

where it’s been hard to know which way is up, what priorities are the most important to tackle and feeling overwhelmed at all the needs of God’s people (and my own!) all at once.    I’m sure you’ve felt the same way, too–for my reasons and a whole lot of other ones.  It’s frightening, frustrating and discouraging all at the same time.  We were created by God to be in community with each other but it’s hard to make it real and stay connected.  Yet I remain confident of our mission:  that God rules, and with the power of the Holy Spirit, patience and perseverance, He is building His Church at Blanchard and beyond.

Two personal blackout-busters I experienced this week:

Just today I shared an hour with three individuals from Blanchard Warrenville who are meeting weekly to fast over lunch during Lent to consider the miracles found within Jesus’ death and resurrection, to sing together and to pray.  Spending an hour like that cuts into my blackout and affirms my connection to God’s Body on mission.  And this past Tuesday, a whole bunch of Blanchard ladies who had come together to start the planning for hosting backyard Bible clubs all over the western suburbs this summer, took fifteen minutes to listen to Scripture and pray with me and the rest of Blanchard’s staff in our Wheaton sanctuary.

What about you?  What blackout busters are you experiencing at Blanchard right now?

Or maybe you’re in the middle of a re-entry blackout right now.  What do you want or need to re-establish communication and relationship between God and your church family?  How can I (and all of us at Blanchard) help?

Major Tom out.

