Breakfasts on school days are a miracle unto themselves.  Between Arthur, sleeper-inners, cranky butts (mom and dad included) and the daily adventure of choosing any other outfit than mom has picked the night before, we somehow manage to sit down at the table together for a meal.  And most of the time, we even pull off hot breakfasts.

This morning, as the sun keeps getting up earlier and earlier, the parents in the house actually stirred before the kids did, giving me enough time to make Kate’s Famous Pancakes, our favorite scratch pancake mix (Thanks, Johnsons!).  As I got to work on the dry ingredients, my sleepy little five-year-old patters down the stairs, regally adorned with some seriously righteous bedhead, and whispers a smiley  “good morning” to me.

I knelt down, wrapped her up in a big bear hug and breathed in that amazing natural kid smell (you know the one I’m talking about, right?)–nothing else in the world like it.  “Can I help?” she quietly asked on her tippy toes…

It’s crazy how often I want to say “no”…

…why, I’m not sure, but generally that’s the first thing that pops into my head.  Yet how could I resist that fuzzy little ball of cuteness?  In the urgency of a school day morning, with 8:20am marching ever closer, I made the right choice.  I said “yes.”

So we made pancakes together, one cup and one-half teaspoon at a time–and it was good.

Jesus said, “Whoever welcomes this little child in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me welcomes the one who sent me.  For he who is least among you all–he is the greatest.” Luke 9:48

