I’m sure we’ve all had nights when it was difficult to sleep.  We watch the clock ticking by and keep counting the few hours we have left until we need to rise and start our new day.  With each passing hour and sometimes minute, a deeper panic sets in that we’re not going to get enough sleep.  I hate that feeling…wanting so badly to sleep and not being able to drift off.

Psalm 4 begins like this, “Answer me when I call to you. O my righteous God.  Give me relief from my distress; be merciful to me and hear my prayer.”  The Psalmist goes on to write a few verses later that “the Lord has set apart the godly for himself; the Lord will hear when I call to him.”  He asks that the light of the Lord’s face shine upon him and then the Psalm ends with verse 8.  “I will lie down and sleep in peace, for you alone, O Lord, make me dwell in safety.”

As God’s people, will you call out to our Lord to be merciful to Jeff that he might sleep well at night.  May the Lord’s face shine upon you and Jeff and grant us all peaceful sleep that comes from knowing we dwell in the safety of our God and King.

