Ever been pushed to the edge of your faith?  Where our human need for tangible evidence of God’s existence pushes you to the inky fringes of your mind’s capacity to tolerate the murkiness of this busted up world we live in? Welcome to the color of my thoughts these days.

We were made for more than this.

A haunting, old song of Amy Grant’s has been floating through my consciousness lately called “What About the Love?” Even though it will take you some time, the song lyrics(by Kye Fleming & Janis Ian) are worth the read (or a listen on iTunes)…

She asks a frighteningly powerful, yet eternally-conscious human question,

Is this all there is?…Something’s wrong.”

As I continue my recovery from brain cancer surgery, I’m mentally pressed to reconfirm my core convictions about everyday reality.  Here are a few of my frequent questions.

Does the God of the Bible exist?

Is He in control?

Does He have the power to heal disease?

Does He have the power to forgive my sin; to bless me with peace that cannot  be intellectually explained?

Is the reality of heaven really better than anything this world has to offer?

Is he preparing a place for me there?

Should I die from cancer, will God be my daughters’ Father and Great Shepherd?

Did Jesus experience my pain as a human and suffer unto death to make a way home for me?

And, every day, in faith, I choose to say “yes” to all of these questions. (And a whole lot of other ones.)

I would also add, that I say “yes” with greater conviction than I ever have before.

I long for heaven today like I never have before.

I believe God loves me and will take care of me, no matter how many days I have left.  He gives me power and authority to live with confidence and conviction.  I can’t quantify my faith for you (but that’s why it’s faith, right?  Call me crazy.  But you can’t take it away from me. It’s mine but Christ has plenty for you, too,  if you’ll take faith in Him for your own.

The voice of the world might tell you this is all foolishness.

Go ahead and buy what the world’s selling.

It’s honestly tempting–but I’m really not interested.  The “answers” offered just don’t hold up.  I’ll take and claim what the Bible teaches me to be true about God and his work on my behalf.

Therefore, brothers, since we have confidence to enter the Most Holy Place by the blood of Jesus, by a new and living way opened for us through the curtain, that is, his body, and since we have a great priest over the house of God, let us draw near to God with a sincere heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled to cleanse us from a guilty conscience and having our bodies washed with pure water.  Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.  And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.  Hebrews 10:22-24 (NIV; emphasis mine)

I’ve got everything I need in Christ Jesus, thank you very much.  How about you?

So, to answer my own question…

Is this all there is?

No. There’s so much more,  if we’ll only step out into the murky darkness to take hold of it. Will you?

