Over the last four Sundays at Blanchard Warrenville, we’ve had the opportunity/blessing during our worship services to go forward to  little tables set up in the corner of our sanctuary to express our gratitude to God for his goodness, kindness, mercy and healing in our lives in this season of Thanksgiving.  We sang the “We Will Remember” by Tommy Walker every Sunday and I sensed the Holy Spirit really connecting those lyrics with our everyday lives–for me,  the third verse was powerful:

I still remember the day You saved me
The day I heard You call out my name
You said You loved me and would never leave me
And I’ve never been the same…

I do remember that day.  I was eight years old.  I was on summer vacation in Indonesia with my family.  We had just finished watching the only English language TV series on for the day.  That night it was EmergencyI don’t remember all the details but, obviously, Mom and Dad had let me stay up late to watch with the rest of my sisters.  In hindsight, I’m really glad they did, because, after watching the show, I crawled into bed terrified.  Somebody in the show had died.  And as I tried to close those eight-year-old eyes, they wouldn’t let me.  Deep in the  background of my sleepy subconscious I heard laughter–that I attributed to the devil.  He was laughing at me that night because, though I had grown up in a Christian home, I was his.  I hadn’t given my life over to become a devoted follower of Jesus yet. And, in that moment, I wanted to change my eternal position forever–to claim all the great stories about Jesus from the Bible  I had learned growing up and make them my own.  Feeling a strong sense of urgency to talk to my older sister, Beth, I got out of bed and crossed the hallway to knock on her door.  I told her I wanted to invite Jesus into my heart and have him become Lord of my life.  She happily agreed to help me.  So I prayed and invited Jesus in.  And the laughter stopped.

Satan had no power over me anymore.  I was now a child of the King forever.

How about you?  Do you still remember the day Jesus found you and called out your name?  And If you haven’t heard Him yet–just listen–He’s calling.

With Thanksgiving coming tomorrow, and thanks to our season of remembering at Blanchard Warrenville, I remember that day with gratitude–especially the peace and healing I’ve experienced over the last five months as I’ve recovered from brain surgery.  Jesus has been wonderfully close to me, given me a peace that passes all understanding.

I’m so glad I listened when he called out my name that scary night in Indonesia.  And I’m thankful for all the ways we had a chance to say “thank you” to him on our tree in Warrenville over the month of November, too.  

One of the things I added to the tree last Sunday?  That I was able to go to the table with Anna, my daughter, and be able to return to my seat, healthy and well–brain cancer and seizure-free.  Unlike on Father’s Day when, after returning to my seat from taking Anna, my initial seizure started.  And my life changed forever after that.  But I’m still and always will be a child of the King because of that day Jesus called out my name.

Give thanks to the LORD, for He is good, His love endures forever! (Psalm 136:1 NIV)

 

