I think you’d agree with me that there’s no more urgent task in the modern Church than “to train up our children in the way they should go.”  But it’s definitely easier said than done.

My new post this week is simply a call to listen to this great, free message (click the link below to listen online and/or download it for free…) recently delivered  by Case Seymour at the 2011 No Regrets Men’s Conference from Elmbrook Church in Wisconsin. I’d love to sit down and talk some more with Case about his many everyday examples from his own life as a dad with six kids at home.

This 50-minute message is flat out one of the very best vision-casting sermons about what it looks like to be a godly Father (Moms, you’ll learn a lot, too!)–a “legacy parent” as Seymour would say.

Even if you just apply 1 of his many, many powerful ideas in your parenting at home this year, your kids will be richly blessed for a lifetime!  I welcome your comments to Case’s message on this post today.

  • How did he stimulate your thinking as a mom or a dad?
  • Which of Seymour’s ideas is most inspiring for you?
  • What commitment can you make as a parent to improve from a 4 to a 5 or a 7 to an 8?

One of the weakest points in my own Christian walk as a pastor (this is as embarrassing as it gets…) is my lack of discipline with my daily quiet time.  Casey rightfully argues that probably the most significant gift we can give to our children as parents is modeling a life of devotion to spending time in God’s Word–“the only book in the world that reads its readers”–which is the very reason we avoid it, says Seymour.   I’ve been working at trying to improve my commitment to being in God’s Word forever;  but I’m tired of a lifetime of lousy excuses.  God’s Word is powerful and effective, living and active.

I am spiritually impoverished and powerless as a person, as a follower of Jesus without it (let alone a pastor!); yet, spiritually, we all have areas where we are impoverished and can use growth and strengthening.  How are you doing in your own spiritual formation?  Being in God’s Word is one of my growth points right now (and has been for a long time…).  And I’m committed, by God’s grace and power, to impacting my marriage and my relationship with my kids for the better–to leave a legacy of commitment to God’s Word with my children to pass on to their children.  That’s another thing that struck me about Seymour’s message.  He challenged us that our personal impoverishment or “spiritual famine” as parents will be seen in our children’s and/or spouse’s faces.

Ouch.  Powerful motivation to change my ways, don’t you think?

