Ellie’s friends have been wowing her recently with their “fancy” hot lunches in thermos containers–particularly with one who’s been bringing ravioli lately.  So she asked if she could bring ravioli to lunch sometime soon.  I happened to be at Walmart for an errand yesterday and grabbed a can of it to surprise her.

You’d never think that a simple can of eighty-eight cent ravioli could make a cute little first grader so happy!  She must have said “thank you” to me at least a couple of times last night before bed.

Then, this morning’s prep before school was filled with tippy-toes dancing, giggles and beaming smiles as Ellie and I prepared the thermos jar and heated the ravioli in the microwave just before she got on the bus (you know, in order to have it as hot and ready as possible…)  And, as a bonus, we didn’t have enough room for the whole can in her thermos.  So Ellie and I got to try one for ourselves (plus two left over for Penny our dog, too…) as a fine finish to our breakfasts.  We even packed a little “sprinkle cheese” (“Kamphausenese” for parmesan cheese) in a little baggie to top it off as the grand finale to her fine dining experience at school today.

So much joy packed into an ordinary can of cheap ravioli.

So much joy for me as a dad to find Joy in the midst of Ellie’s delight.  I needed that today.  Ministry is often difficult, reflecting the sorrow and pain of Jesus’ own earthly ministry.

Where do you find godly Joy in your life?  And, like I did today, do you allow it to infect and infuse your everyday experiences?

I’ve never been so grateful for thinking of my daughter at Walmart and spending eighty-eight cents because I love her so much.

Shout for Joy to the LORD, all the earth.  Worship the LORD with gladness; come before him with joyful songs. Know that the LORD is God.  It is he who made us, and we are his, we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.  Psalm 100:1-3 (NIV)

